World Renowned Professor Yuri Oganessian is Awarded The Prestigious Victor Hambartsumyan Award

Professor Yuri Oganessian will be honored today at the 35th Annual Gala of Armenian Engineers and Scientists of America (AESA), January 19, 2019 in Los Angeles. The minister of Education and Science of Armenia Mr. Arayik Harutyunyan will award the internationally acclaimed Armenian scholar Yuri Oganessian with the 2018 AESA’s Victor Hambartsumyan Award for his accomplishments in the research of heavy elements. Oganessian is the only living person with an element named after him, Element 118 (Oganesson, Og). This element is the last element added to the column of noble gases and has very interesting quantum mechanical properties. Prof. Oganessian is a world renowned nuclear physicist, he is a corresponding member of the Armenian and Russian Science Academies. He holds numerous honorary doctorates including Goethe University Frankfurt (2002), University of Messina (2009), and Yerevan State University. Professor Oganessian is a proud son of Armenia and a special friend to Physics in Armenia. He chaired the International Committee of Experts and enabled the transformation of the Yerevan Physics Institute to the A. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory of Armenia (AANL). It was this transformation that will enable the introduction of nuclear medicine in Armenia, the production of the isotopes for the diagnosis and therapy of cancers in Armenia while enable experiments in nuclear astrophysics and low energy nuclear physics in Armenia AESA was founded in 1983 in Glendale, California as a non-partisan and non-sectarian philanthropic organization focused primarily on addressing the professional, technical, and scientific needs of fellow Armenian engineers, scientists, industrialists, and architects throughout the world. Since its inception 32 years ago, AESA has organized two World Armenian Scientific Congresses. The First World Congress was held in the United States and the Second World Congress was jointly organized with Ararat Academy of Sciences of France, which was held at the UNESCO headquarters in Paris in 1993.
Updated: 01/18/19