On 27th of December, the National Academy of Science of RA (NAS RA) held a general meeting, where two former scientists of YerPhI Razmik Mirzoyan /High Energy Astrophysics, Germany/ and Alexander Khodjamirian /Theoretical Physics, Germany/ have been elected as foreign members of NAS RA.

   Razmik Mirzoyan is a senior astrophysicist from the Max-Planck-Institute for Physics in Munich, Germany. He is the chairman of the MAGIC collaboration, operating one of the most successful facilities in Gamma ray astronomy. After leaving YerPhI in early 90-ths Dr. Mirzoyan took a leading role in the design, construction, and operation, of the six imaging telescopes of HEGRA collaboration on Canarian islands and after closing HEGRA experiment in creating the system of the MAGIC-telescopes. Now Prof. Mirzoyan actively participates in design of the Cherenkov Telescope Array project, the leading astrophysical project in Europe and he is PI of the TAIGA experiment near Baikal lake in Russia. Prof. Mirzoyan often visited Armenia delivering lectures to YerPhI young scientists and consulting Cosmic Ray division experts in various topics of particle experimental physics.

razmik mirzoyan

Figure 1. Razmik Mirzoyan


   Prof. Alexander Khodjamiryan has worked at Theoretical Physics division of Yerevan Physics from 1973 to 1992. In 1992 he moved to Germany, where he continued his research in theoretical elementary particle physics. He worked in Universities of Munich, Würzburg, Karlsruhe, while also was invited to a number of European research centers, including the Niels Bohr Institute in Copenhagen and since 2009, Alexander Khodjamiryan is a professor of the University of Siegen, Germany. He is in close scientific relations with the Armenian physicists especially with former YerPhI colleagues. He conducted a series of scientific seminars and lectures for Armenian scientists, participated in various theoretical physics conferences in Armenia.

khodjamirian physik

Figure 2. Alexander Khodjamirian

    We congratulate our colleagues for this election and wish them further fruitful cooperation with YerPhI scientists.